In order to participate in the Federal Stafford Loan Program, you must meet the following basic eligibility criteria:

  • Hold matriculated status (i.e., degree-seeking)
  • Enroll for a minimum of half-time course enrollment during the loan period (half-time is a minimum of six credit hours each term)
  • Maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP)*
  • Hold U.S. citizenship, a permanent resident visa or other eligible non-citizenship status
  • Hold a valid Social Security number
  • Be in compliance with Selective Service Registration requirements
  • Not currently be in default for a prior federal student loan nor owe a refund for a prior federal grant or loan
  • Not have borrowed in excess of maximum loan limits
  • Not have been convicted of violating any federal or state drug possession or sale law within the current academic year

*Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) Definition: Students normally complete degree requirements within three and five years from the original admission term, respectively, for the MS and MBA programs. In addition, a student must have a minimum cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 (if already enrolled prior to requesting a Stafford Loan), and maintain a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 each semester to continue to receive Stafford Loan proceeds. Extenuating circumstances can be used as the basis for an appeal of a determination of unsatisfactory academic standing. (Please see "Related Policies" later in this Handbook for a description of the appeal process.)

Back to top

Updated: 2016-04-21, 15:03